Schmidt wins Icebreaker

23 Boats competed at the ice breaker last weekend. Friday night greeted sailors with beautiful weather and a fish fry. The bar was in full swing until the early hours of the morning with some sailors finding a place to sleep on the lawn of the club. Saturday morning started with a rainstorm and hail (luckily the lawn sleeper was woken up by this point) followed by big wind. The RC reported a gust to 38 mph standing on the end of the pier. Sailors waited for the wind to die down but it kept coming strong. With no races completed it was derby time. Sunday morning looked light but was a very pleasant 5-10 mph. The first race was won by Joe Schaub with Steve Schmidt not far behind. Race two was started but ended up being a one tack beat so was called back for a restart. Great call by the RC on that one. Race 2 was started again and had decent breeze through the first 4 legs. The last leg up however, the lake went flat. With most of the fleet on the left and a few brave souls on the right, it was a battle to the end trying to find the breeze. In the end the left won out and Schmidt overtook Schaub to win the second and final race. Steve Schmidt won the event through the tie breaker. We would like to officially welcome the J-99, Charlie Harrison to the fleet. As the C fleet’s first Oshkosh boat since I have been around it was great to see a new lake designation. Thank you Cedar Lake yacht club for the great hospitality as always. The regatta forgot to award the ball buster award and is taking nominations on its facebook page.

Place Sail No Skipper Crew R1 R2 Tot
1 E-88 Steve Schmidt Tim Schmidt 2 1 3
2 T-17 Joe Schaub Gene Benedict 1 2 3
3 B-303 Frank Davenport Ron Jarecki 7 3 10
4 E-16 Dave Smith Briana Smith 8 4 12
5 OO-824 Dave Harris Lou Morgan 4 9 13
6 V-222 Bob Biwer Becky Biwer 9 6 15
7 E-111 Matt Prange Charlie Meier 6 12 18
8 LF-88 Tom Keenan Tina Keenan 11 8 19
9 B-15 Mark Misch Brad Roble 3 18 21
10 B-22 Brian McMurray Jake Erdman 5 16 21
11 OO-23 Kyle Stack Katie Bruder 12 10 22
12 B-117 Christine McNeil Brad McNeil 16 7 23
13 OO-324 Ben Otten Zac Mommaertz 19 5 24
14 V-722 Cody Ziegler Mike Karrels 13 11 24
15 CL-2 Scott Campbell Wendy Brown 10 19 29
16 B-23 Andrew Bohl Matt Zea 15 15 30
17 J-99 Charlie Harrison Jeff Doubek 14 17 31
18 V-42 Matt Parker Adam O’ Malley 21 13 34
19 B-32 Brian Allen Eric Good DNS 14 38
20 LF-111 Scott Craig 18 20 38
21 CL-15 Terry Adams Nick Adams 17 23 40
22 LF-111 Bill DeCoste Ken Seaman 20 22 42
23 V-711 Chance Dries Ron Dries 22 21 43

Posted on May 12th, by Matt Prange in From the Blog.
Comments Off on Schmidt wins Icebreaker

Comments are closed.