Cuba Sailors Sweep Eastern C Scow Championships

Cuba Lake’s sailors made full use of their home court advantage over the weekend, placing four of their boats among the top five in last weekend’s C Scow Eastern Championship Regatta.  In all, thirteen boats entered the competition.  Among the out-of-town sailors in attendance was Tom Hubbell, the president of the United States Sailing Association.  Perhaps the best evidence of the high level of competition was the fact that different sailors won each the five races sailed.

The race committee, headed by Jay Tyson of Delray Beach, Florida was able to conduct two races on Saturday, despite very light and shifty winds.  The first race saw numerous lead changes as the wind died and shifted, but in the end Olean’s Mike Kane and crew Adam Hellwig prevailed, narrowly edging out President Hubbell, who was followed across the line by Glen Walborn of Spring Lake, Michigan and crew Patti Pohlig Ainsley.

The second race presented even more challenging conditions, as the wind switched 180 degrees and back again, but the final results were similar.  President Hubbell won the race, followed by the Kane boat and the boat sailed by Skip Wilday and Sean Hollowell of Cuba.

By late afternoon the wind had completely dissipated, and racing was called off for the day.  It resumed early Sunday morning, in a building breeze which filled the lake from the southeast.  The first race was sailed on a windward-leeward course, and the Wilday boat led virtually from start to finish, followed by Coach Kane, with George Bradley and crew Gordon Reed coming across third.

After that race ended, the committee set a new course, using the Dolly Parton course introduced at the club two weeks ago. More than a half dozen sailors held the lead at one point or another during the race, but in the end it was Stuart Strother of Lakewood who claimed first, followed by Dana Perrigo of Black Creek with Joe Pleakis as crew, and the Wilday boat.  That course was used again for the final race of the event, again with numerous lead changes and shifts in position.  Todd Perrigo and his crew Ali Kane took the race, followed by the Wilday boat in second, with Greg and Travis Buckley claiming third.

When the scoring was finished, Kane and Hellwig were crowned the Eastern C Scow champions, with Wilday and Hollowell a very close second, and Commodore Perrigo and Ms. Kane in third.  Stuart Strother, who came in fourth, was the only non-Cuba sailor in the top five.  He was followed by the Bradley boat in fifth.  With the victory, Coach Kane qualifies for the invitational Blue Chip regatta, which will be held in Okauchee, Wisconsin in September.

Tom Hubbell, President of the United States Sailing Association, (in the white shirt), was one of the out-of-town competitors who came to the Eastern C Scow Championships, held on Cuba Lake last weekend.  It is the first time a president of the association has been to our area.

Place Sail # Skipper Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Total
1 NY-77 Mike Kane Adam Hellwig 1 2 2 (6) 4 9
2 NY-3 Skip Wilday Sean Hollowell (14) 3 1 3 2 9
3 NY-11 Todd Perrigo Ali Kane 5 5 (10) 4 1 15
4 CX-24 Stuart Strother Eric Hall 6 4 (8) 1 6 17
5 NY-1 George Bradley Connie Bradley 4 (9) 3 7 5 19
6 NY-54 Dana Perrigo Joe Pleakis (8) 6 5 2 7 20
7 NY-51 Greg Buckley Travis and Matt Buckley (11) 7 6 5 3 21
8 SL-0 Glen Walborn Patti Ainsley 3 (12) 4 11 8 26
9 CX-90 Tom Hubbell John ? 2 1 (14) 14 14 31
10 NY-88 Mark Mendes Rae Fitzpatrick and Abby Peirotti 7 (12) 9 10 9 35
11 NY-7 James Pierotti Tyler Pierotti (11) 7 11 8 10 36
12 NY-12 Bob Krall Nancy Krall 10 (12) 7 9 12 38
13 NY-4 Jack Pierotti Joe Hughes 9 10 (12) 12 11 42



Posted on June 10th, by Matt Prange in From the Blog.
Comments Off on Cuba Sailors Sweep Eastern C Scow Championships

Comments are closed.